After the Reformation, the number of nuns fell to four in the late 16th century, so that the choir service could no longer be carried out 'properly'. The cloister was neglected and the habit was disdained. However, at the beginning of the turmoil of the Thirty Years' War, during which the convent sought temporary refuge in Cologne, the moral decline of the convent came to an end.
A sad chapter in the history of the monastery in the 18th century was the economic decline caused by poor management and waste. The secularization of 1803, which led to the dissolution of the spiritual possessions, was therefore not met with regret by the remaining nuns. The small convent willingly left the monastery, which was up for sale. The buyer of the poor building fabric became the Drolshagen citizen Theodor Alterauge. The town acquired the convent building, which had not yet been demolished in 1844 and was intact at the time, for 4,250 thalers. The rooms were used as a school. The building, which was completely renovated in 1987, now houses the municipal building authority and the music school. The vaulted cellar is used for a variety of purposes: Art exhibitions as well as wedding ceremonies and VHS events. There is a popular music hall on the top floor.
The Old Monastery in Drolshagen has been owned by the town since 1844 and is now home to the municipal building authority and the music school. The "Eichener Mühle", a former ban mill, and the oldest house in the town on the corner of Hagen-/Gräfin-Sayn-Straße can still be seen from the monastery's former property. A special gem is the Romanesque basilica of St. Clemens with remains of paintings from the transition from the 10th to the 11th century.
Can only be viewed from the outside - vaulted cellar open for exhibitions during the vacations.
Text: Drolshagen Marketing e. V.